Seaton Chess Club Banner

In the early years of the club, the Caines Cup was awarded to the winner of an all-play-all club championship competition run throughout the season. There was also a separate 5 round Swiss tournament (usually 1 game per month) which players also competed for with the winner receiving the Cheeseman Trophy. 

In more recent times when the Swiss tournament was discontinued, this was changed so that the winner of the all-play-all Club Championship  received the Cheeseman Trophy with the runner up being awarded the Caines Cup.

In 2018, the club championship was split into two sections: an Open section for all members and a Major section for players rated under 150.

The winner of the Open section receives the Cheeseman Trophy and the winner of the Major section receives the Caines Cup.


1989 Jim O'Grady
1990 Jim O'Grady
1991 Paul Rogers
1992 Paul Rogers
1993 Jim O'Grady & Martin Nex
1994 Paul Rogers
1995 Paul Rogers
1996 Paul Rogers
1997 P. Rogers & G. Snell
1998 Paul Rogers
1999 Paul Rogers
2000 Paul Rogers
2001 R. A. Ryan
2002 Les Porter
2003 Jon Underwood
2004 Hazel Welch
2005 Robert Ryan
2006 Steve Dean
2007 Steve Dean
2008 Hazel Welch
2009 Steve Dean
2010 M. Adams
2011 Alan Dowse
2012 Steve Dean
2013 Steve Dean
2014 Steve Dean
2015 Steve Dean
2016 Steve Dean
2017 Alan Dowse
2018 Paul Hampton
2019 Jon Underwood
2020 Paul Hampton
2022 Paul Hampton
2023 Paul Hampton